International Geotargeting with a dot.ie site. Can it be done?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barney1

Hi There,
Pardon my ignorance on this but truth be told I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to google webmaster tools and geo targetting.
I got an online shop. Site about 3 years old and revamped to a wordpress site about 15 months ago.

Doing pretty good all things considered from a google.ie organic ranking point of view. Site is a PR4 (Not sure if that means anything anymore?) and is Number 1 on google.ie for a number of search terms I would want to be ranked for and indeed number 1 for some things that do nothing for me at all:shame:
The thing is the site is a dot.ie even though I sell worldwide.
Organic traffic is on a slow upward curve all the time perhaps much of this is down to more content being added but I reckon much of it is down to optimising the pages well.

A few figures
2011 80% site visitors were based in Ireland
So far 2012 its 65% for Ireland
2011 90% sales were Ireland
So far 2012 it is 80% for Ireland

Currently in webmaster tools geo-targetting is set to Ireland but as I'm ultimately after a worldwide market so I guess really I got 2 questions

1: Because its a dot.ie can it be changed to worldwide targeting at all or can something be done with it to achieve more international traction?

2: If changes can be made come it have a negative impact on google.ie rankings?

Would really appreciate some input!

paul

Ninja
You can't geo-target .IE's domains in google webmaster console. This doesn't mean that you won't rank for GOOGLE.COM queries. Ranking for something on GOOGLE.IE doesn't automatically mean you will be at the same position for GOOGLE.COM / .FR . etc. and if you were able to target the domain, it doesn't mean that the position would transfer one to one.

Barney1