How does google know my .org is in ireland

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

first up, i am fairly new to all this so apologies if my questions seem amateur :p I recently launched a new website to promote a small business I've set up. based in Cork. My url is a .org and I'd like to know how I should SEO my code to let search engines know I'm based in Cork.

I've included the following geo tags in my metas:

<meta name=”geo.position” content=” 51.90; -8.96″ />
<meta name=”geo.country” content=”IE” />
<meta name=”geo.placename” content=”Macroom, Co. Cork, Ireland” />

This is something I came across on google search. I just edited it to suit my locations but have no idea what is exactly actually does if anything to identify my .org as Cork, Irish.

Does this method work? Are there others? How does google know where a site is loacted.

My host is hostmonster based in the usa.

Thanks

Cormac :)

Contuinued...

Of course, I realise that changing my url to .ie would probably help a lot.
However, I can see other .com and .org sites being listed through google.ie

And I understand that if I can get links to my site on other popular google.ie ranking sites this apparently helps too...

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Google webmaster tools allows you to set the location, though your choice of a .org for a business strikes me as quite odd, as .org is more commonly used by non-profits

The other obvious thing is to host the site in Ireland

Thanks Blacknight...

it's just a startup businesss and while it's taking form .org was the easiest thing to go for. I'm going on a back 2 work scheme after xmas and will be getting a .ie registering with revenue etc....

I'm checking out the google webmaster tools thing...

Cheers,

Cormac

link8r

Thanks Blacknight...

it's just a startup businesss and while it's taking form .org was the easiest thing to go for. I'm going on a back 2 work scheme after xmas and will be getting a .ie registering with revenue etc....