Status
Not open for further replies.

addoc

hello,
Can ye please recommend a what would be the best scripting language(s) to learn for web development.
My background is bit of perl, transact sql etc. Strictly scripting. I had a look as asp.net which is ok but find it very hard to layout and getting into the c# side of it is too much.
So basically what scripting languages could some one do most with. There's too much out there to decide what to start with.
Thanks

TheMenace

Definitely PHP. And if you want a more agile environment to code applications, Ruby on Rails. Both are open source with huge communities and support. I wouldn't put my eggs into a proprietary basket anymore - learning .NET will only get you so far career-wise.

Cormac

Definitely PHP. And if you want a more agile environment to code applications, Ruby on Rails. Both are open source with huge communities and support. I wouldn't put my eggs into a proprietary basket anymore - learning .NET will only get you so far career-wise.

Can't the same be said for PHP and RoR?

It depends on what type of development you are going into I suppose. A lot of large commercial companies such as financial institutes use .Net and JSP religiously.

But I agree about PHP and RoR. I would personally go for either of them. A mate is developing in RoR at the moment and I asked him would it be better to expand on my limited knowledge of PHP or to look at RoR more. He advised me to go full hogg with RoR. I can't remember what reasons he gave at the time though.

TheMenace

Can't the same be said for PHP and RoR?