Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky

Hi All

I am a UK webmaster, I have been operating in affiliate marketing in the UK for the past five years. I would like to create the Irish equivalent of some of my UK sites, so I am looking to register some .ie domains. In the UK I operate purely as an individual as I'm not big enough yet to need a limited company.

I am looking at the Irish Registry rules here:

iedr.ie/QuickGuideToRegistrations.php#PersonalName

I am thinking of using status "Unincorporated Association Name" or "Discretionary Name" to apply for the .ie domains.

Does anyone have any comments on which option to choose or how to portray myself?

Also, if I get refused for the domains, does that prevent me from ever applying for them again?

Many thanks

Sparky

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
You'll need to have either a trademark or a tangible link to Ireland ie. trade

sparky

I'm hoping that trade might be demonstrated by the fact that I have bought hosting from an Irish hosting company.

The other thing I was thinking of doing was starting a site under a .eu domain, hosted in Ireland, and trying to make a sale via an Irish affiliate programme. However, I have already applied for the domains and it might be a big ask to make that sale within the 30 days I have to complete my application.

Rgds

jmcc

The other thing I was thinking of doing was starting a site under a .eu domain, hosted in Ireland, and trying to make a sale via an Irish affiliate programme.