Is share hosting good enough for small - medium sized companies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amateur

I have been developing for a few years now and for most of my clients I have used shared hosting. Most of my clients are small to medium sized companies that require both web hosting and email hosting (most hook this up to their mail server).

Lately I am wondering if shared hosting is satisfactory for such companies, is shared hosting secure enough for such? Should I be looking at providing clients with hosting on a dedicated server? When companies depend so much on their email, is shared hosting satisfactory for such reliance? No one has ever complained to me but looking at this with a nervous cap on! Or is shared hosting sufficient.

I dont develop that much so I would find it difficult to justify purchasing a dedicated server or even a virtual server, especially as I dont want the responsibility to maintain them.

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
For "light" to "medium" use ie. no ecommerce, shared hosting should be fine for most people.

When you start getting into ecommerce you really should look at vps or dedicated.

nevf

As long as it's not ecommerce, shared hosting should be good enough.

In my opinion, the only difference, in terms of privacy and security between dedicated and shared is that shared can viewed by the people who work for the hosting company a little easier... which doesn't piss me off really to be honest. anyway, i would botch dedicated hosting if it was left to me. I'd rather leave it to the people who know.

Of course, if you had a good amount of clients, then dedicated or even VPS would be a much cheaper option... also bare in mind, support, etc.

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
In my opinion, the only difference, in terms of privacy and security between dedicated and shared is that shared can viewed by the people who work for the hosting company a little easier...

Em... err.... no :)